29
Jun
08

priestess.

One overcast Sunday morning in the spring of 2006 my friend Tammy called to ask if I’d like to meet her for an early hike in nearby South Mountain Reservation. I quickly agreed, glad to have this chance for some girl time. We walked swiftly along the undulating path, eager to get deeper into the park. Past the main loop, we unleashed Tammy’s dog Kelly who playfully ran ahead of us in search of her own adventure.

Tammy and I continued walking, going deeper into the woods and into our hearts. One of my great joys is sharing friendship with people who aren’t afraid to jump into the deep end of life. The conversation that morning reflected our deep yearning to craft lives that are rich and deep and filled with passion. When Tammy told me about an interfaith program her sister-in-law was studying, I felt a strange energy surge through my body. I looked up to see a deer standing to the side of our path, seemingly staring straight at me. As soon as I returned home I found the One Spirit web site and downloaded the application.
The journey I began two years ago culminated last week in my graduation and ordination as an Interfaith Minister. During our years at One Spirit, my classmates and I studied the world’s great traditions and studied ourselves. We prayed and kneeled and cried out and reached out to each other. We questioned our worth and our readiness to be ministers. We braved the shadows of our fears and our conditioning. Together we waited for our hearts to open in love for one another and for those to whom we offer our lives in service. Last week in the presence of our mentors and spiritual teachers we spoke aloud our vows and announced that we are ready to step into the world as we embrace our ministries and embody the presence of divine love in the world.
2 Responses to “priestess.”


  1. 1 Mary
    30 June 2008 at 6:33 pm

    MB-
    Many, many congratulations for the work that you have done – but also for the work that you have embarked on from this point forward.
    Mary

  2. 2 Tammy
    6 July 2008 at 7:36 pm

    Marybeth,

    Congratulations my dear friend! It was wonderful to be there for your celebration! You looked beautiful…you were glowing! I am so sorry that we didn’t get to connect. I had family visiting and it was a bit of a whirlwind. It’s great to share in this experience with you. Kelly and I are still hiking, seeking peace and inspiration from the wonders of the reservation. We miss you! Enjoy the journey!!

    xo
    Tammy


Leave a Reply

