15
Dec
07

simple abundance.


During the last two weeks I have enjoyed an abundant harvest of one of my favorite Indian fruits, the taadgola. I have read that the fruit is harvested throughout the summer, too, but the taadgolawala just showed up around the corner at the beginning of the month.


 

The taadgola is the fruit of a certain palm tree, so you can imagine the hard exterior. The taadgolawala carefully slices through it with a small machete to reveal up to three tender fruits inside.

The flesh of the fruit is slightly firm and the hollow center is filled with a clear juice. One careless slip of the blade and the whole fruit is wasted.


Eating taadgolas is almost a meditative experience, as I gently peel away the remaining covering to expose the fruit inside. I am careful not to puncture the fruit, and the reward is a slightly nutty sweet explosion at the first bite. As I allow
myself to slip into the rhythm of the cycle, my body relaxes, my mind becomes quiet, and my heart is full of the pure simplicity of enjoying this abundance.

0 Responses to “simple abundance.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

